Tattoo & Transform

18 Jan

After my marriage ended, I wanted to do something to commemorate my feelings and to signify the start of a new chapter.

Enter, the torched wedding dress.

I wrote about that experience here, but I’m going to show a few pictures again anyway because I love them.





Scott Hobbs of Scott Hobbs Photography was the man behind the camera for this particular event (makeup and hair by Scotia of Sweet Cherry Spa) and I decided I wanted him behind the camera for future projects.  

He was happy to oblige with his expertise and I decided my next series of photos would document the beautiful and transformative process of tattooing.

This was a casual photo shoot that felt just like friends hanging out and laughing.  One of those friends just happened to have a big camera!

Scott is a professional


My hope was that the camera would be able to get up really close and personal as the needle pushed ink into the skin.  

I hoped there would be a mess of ink and blood that could represent how life can sometimes be really messy and definitely painful.  

But what happens after all that pain?  

Wipe away the mess and what’s left is a beautiful piece of art.

After the mess and heartbreak of last spring began to fade away (as time passed), I felt reborn.  

I never lost who I was, but being thrust into a new kind of life, shook me. 

It was a summer of reconnecting with old friends and connecting with new friends.  My people rallied around me and new people built me up and fortified me.  My heart is so full and happy and at peace.

That’s not to say it’s easy and stress-free.  But the process of becoming more ME and more fabulous than ever before is a good one.  I’m not stagnating; something is always happening.

The pictures didn’t go exactly as I planned because I didn’t bleed.  It wasn’t a messy experience at all.  

But we are adaptable and I was rewarded with some lovely photographs.






Thank you Scott for the lovely photos and for the gift of your time.

Thank you Vanessa (of Red River Trade Company) for the beautiful art that is now a part of me.

My collection of body art will continue to grow and I will too.

6 Responses to “Tattoo & Transform”

  1. Alexis Chateau January 18, 2017 at 4:39 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear your marriage ended, but I also know enough of bad marriages to be happy for you.

    Celebrate your freedom! And all the best.

    • L.W. January 18, 2017 at 4:44 pm #

      Thank you Alexis. I was very happy in my marriage. But Obviously it’s not possible to stay in a relationship if both parties aren’t committed to it. I really have been given a gift by having it end. It was a gift I didn’t know I wanted. And I’ve made the best of it, thank you so much for commenting!

      • Alexis Chateau January 19, 2017 at 10:08 pm #

        Yes, it takes two and often times there’s that one party who never knows what they want. Been there myself, just as happy as you are.

        Losing someone who can’t commit to forever is always a plus. Now you can commit to you!

      • L.W. January 20, 2017 at 7:08 am #

        Well said! It’s very important to commit to yourself! We are worth it 😊

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Down the rabbit hole | eating dirt - August 1, 2017

    […] A close up look at the transformative power and beauty of tattoos. […]

  2. Super Girls | eating dirt - May 3, 2017

    […] the same way that I wrote about my Dress Burning photos and my Tattoo photos, I’d like to now talk about Super […]

Talk to me

