Not fair at the fair 

10 Aug

  
Last year we missed out on the CLE, also known as the Canadian Lakehead Exibition.  Or simply put, the fair.  

I don’t like crowds, I don’t like heat, and I definitely don’t like overpriced trinkets and carnival food, but for some reason I still like taking my kids there.  

My mom helped us out with the entrance and ride costs and we recruited my visiting friend Stephanie to come hang out with us for a few hours.    

  I’d say it was a successful afternoon as there were no meltdowns and everybody had fun.  We also got out of there just as the line-ups started getting really long.  The key is to avoid the really busy evening hours.   

    
    
    
   
   
    
 So even though everyone had a great time, there was still a big meltdown when we got home.  RJ discovered that JP won two prizes in the fishing game, he got a mood ring, sunglasses, a sign with his name engraved on it, an air-brush temporary tattoo, and he painted a doorknob holder.  RJ dissolved into tears and begged me to take him shopping.  

It’s hard to say what brought on the epic meltdown because it was after a long and exhausting (albeit fun) day.  RJ does not do well when he is tired (or hungry or thirsty) but he is also hyper-conscious about what other kids are doing around him and whether or not they are breaking the rules.  RJ was exhausted but also acutely aware that he and his brother received different treatment.

I explained to him that it’s impossible for him and his brother to get the exact same things 100% of the time.  Also, we didn’t go anywhere besides the CLE and all the opportunities that JP had were also available to him.  Also, he didn’t want to walk around with us – he wanted to walk around with Jason (and go on a lot more rides) and he was thrilled to meet up with a friend from school.  Plus, he got a few treats too.  I don’t know if any of my logical explanations got through to him as he was still inconsolable afterwards and still begging me to take him shopping.

In the end, we decided that he and I would go on a mommy-son date the next day and we could go shopping, though he was shopping with his own money.  We ended up having a lovely afternoon date, followed by dinner out with Daddy and R3 (JP was spending the afternoon with Gramma).

I think teaching your kids about fairness is really quite difficult.  Just because something is fair doesn’t mean it’s equal or just.  But how do you explain that to an almost seven year old?  I guess it’s just something you have to learn as you get older and see your parents model good and just behaviour.

   
 R3 didn’t care one bit about the fair.  He was happy to go have fun at Gramma’s house:  

 

2 Responses to “Not fair at the fair ”

  1. Barbara Y. August 10, 2015 at 12:23 pm #

    I enjoyed your pictures of the fair. Looks like a lot of fun was had there!

    • L.W. August 10, 2015 at 12:47 pm #

      It was pretty fun! My mom stayed home to hide

Talk to me

