25 Weeks

10 Mar

I saw the OBGYN for the first time two weeks ago and again this morning.  Two weeks ago my blood pressure was 160/95 so the meds were increased to three times a day.  Today my blood pressure was thankfully lower, down to 135/95, but the meds are being increased to six times a day.  Doctor says this blood pressure reading is within the realm of normal but the lower number is still pretty high and both numbers are quite a bit higher than my non-pregnant numbers.  

I’m a bit worried about increasing the dose again as I’m starting to experience side effects with taking the pill three times a day (increased nausea, exhaustion, dizziness, restless leg), but the goal is to keep this baby cooking as long as possible and to do that my blood pressure needs to stop getting higher.  

After finishing with the OBGYN, I went to the lab to do my gestational diabetes test.  So you drink 8oz of orange flavoured syrup, wait for an hour, and then see if your blood sugar levels have risen too much.  At least that’s how I understand it.  It was pretty gross and made me nauseous (not a big surprise) but overall, it wasn’t too bad.  

For the first time in my life, a male lab worker took my blood, which leads me to believe that lab technician, at least in Thunder Bay, is a female dominated job.  I told him I was excited to see a male lab technician because I love seeing things that break gender stereotypes.  He laughed and said something like, right on!  He was completely fabulous and ridiculously nice and I’ve decided I want him to be our next door neighbour.

So I’ve made it to 25 weeks and I’m surviving.  I will start the six pills a day tomorrow, along with my continued Zantac three times a for heartburn, and Diclectin three times a day for nausea.  I feel like I take handfuls of pills a day.  

I’ve started experiencing severe pelvic pain (like the pelvis bone) which makes it very difficult to walk and move.  I’m not thrilled about this because this is a symptom I didn’t have with the previous pregnancies.  It’s just one more thing that adds to my depression.  But it’s ok, I will make it through…and all the kicks will be good encouragment for the weeks to come.

Next doctor appointment in two weeks, followed by the RH shot at the hospital. 



5 Responses to “25 Weeks”

  1. Stephanie March 21, 2015 at 10:24 pm #

    You’re so adorable! I’m sad pregnancy isn’t a breeze for you!

    • L.W. March 23, 2015 at 11:46 am #

      Thanks Steph!

  2. Lisa March 10, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    Shit

  3. Jason March 10, 2015 at 9:00 pm #

    You are fantastic, and the boys and I love you!

    • L.W. March 10, 2015 at 9:28 pm #

      Thank you!

Talk to me

