A Giveaway for Women’s Day

3 Mar

This contest is now closed

I’m having a hard time sitting down and actually writing things.  I made it to six months pregnant and I’m more exhausted than ever.  I know there are women out there who feel some sort of mythical second-trimester burst of energy, but that has never been me.

Thankfully, the weather is showing signs of improvement; we had a mighty cold February!  March is finally here and I have something special to give away before it gets too warm!

I wanted to time this “chilly weather” giveaway to coincide with International Women’s Day.  Every year, Around March 8th, I write about amazing women who have made an impact on my life and I plan to continue that tradition!  This year, I have two great items up for grabs!

So if you’ll indulge me by looking at these pictures…

A fleece blanket, handmade by my mom! perfect for cuddling up on the couch and watching a movie or…reading a book!



Any woman in Canada is welcome to enter by commenting on this post and telling me about a strong woman in her life.  I did ask readers to tell me about strong women in their lives last year and I’m doing it again this year!  Of course, men are welcome to comment too.  

I’m saying Canada-only because I will have enough in my budget at the end of March to ship a parcel within the country.  Thank you for being understanding.

This contest will close Friday March 6th at midnight and a winning name will be pulled the following afternoon, on March 7th.

I can’t think of anything I’d rather do on this snowy March day than curl up on my couch with a book.  Seeing as how it’s my day off (one kid at school, one kid at daycare, fetus gestating), I can do just that!

10 Responses to “A Giveaway for Women’s Day”

  1. Tara March 3, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

    I am very lucky to come from a line of tough ladies!

    My grandmother was a nurse who raised 7 children.
    My mother is incredibly tough physically and emotionally, raising 4 kids in the middle of nowhere nearly by herself.
    I can only hope to live up to their examples!

    • L.W. March 3, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

      You are already living up to their fine examples!

  2. Janna March 3, 2015 at 7:51 pm #

    I’m going to say my baba. She is strong, brave, noble and kind. She’s lived through cancer and raised two fabulous kids. She’s been there to help me through all my troubles since the day I was born. She’s still going strong at 87. Cheers to baba!

    • L.W. March 3, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

      Yes, definitely cheers to Baba!

  3. Jolene March 3, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

    I’m happy to say I know a few strong women but since I’m only allowed to name one, it has to be Erika Maki. To me she shows true strength because what motivates her in life and work is to help other women stand tall on their own. One example is business in a bag where she gathered beautiful wedding dresses, grad dresses, shoes etc. and brought them to women in third world countries so they could have their own business of beach weddings. She’s also taught the women spa basics, make-up application and massage. Everything one would need to be married on the beach. 🙂

    • L.W. March 3, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

      That is amazing, what a great project!

  4. Lynn Sanders March 3, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

    The strongest woman I have ever known is my Mom! She raised 6 of us with a firm but gentle hand. Growing up knowing you are loved absolutely is a blessing. I hope someday my daughter can say the same thing about me.

    • L.W. March 3, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

      Oh wonderful! I bet she will say that one day!

  5. Katie Hughdie March 3, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

    The strong woman I know is my mom, who made a very difficult choice to be true to herself and her own needs. She had a lot of strength to do that, especially since this all happened in the late 80s, not a really great time for lesbians.

    • L.W. March 3, 2015 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Katie! I’ve only met your mom briefly, but I’m confident in saying that she is wonderful. And look at all the wonderful children she raised! Her partner is wonderful too, though again, I only met her briefly!

Talk to me

