Ruby Slippers

22 Sep

When I was a wee child of about seven years old, I fell in love with a pair of shoes.

We had recently returned from our one-and-only big family vacation and my dad had just been permanently laid off from his job at the mill. Looking back, I can imagine my parents were in a bit of a crisis mode, but at the time I didn’t see it.

We were at Zellers or Woolco one day (actually I have no idea where we were, I’m just assuming it was a Canadian department store) and we must have been looking for shoes…because, you know, we were in the shoe department.

My mom was probably looking for cheap runners, but I saw these:

IMG_5316.JPG

I wanted them more than anything I had ever wanted before.

They didn’t actually have any sparkles but, in my mind, they shimmered like beautiful rubies. I’m not sure how I convinced my mom to buy them for me because a) my dad just lost his job, and b) we just got back from a month-long trip to Texas where we filled up the Bronco with a ridiculous amount of stuff and had to pay hundreds of extra duty-dollars at the border.

But she bought them. And I loved them. And I wore them all the time: for pretend dress-up, for church, for family outings, and for just playing around the house. I remember my mom hid chocolate eggs in them one Easter Sunday; she knew I would find them easily.

I was in denial when my beloved red shoes became too small for my growing feet. I remember squeezing painfully into the shoes to prove to my mother that they still fit and I could keep wearing them. But actually walking in them proved torturous and I was forced to admit defeat (haha, de-feet). I sadly surrendered the most beautiful shoes in the world, confident that I’d never see them again.

At this point, you probably know what’s coming…

Well, you’re right!

I found my shoes!!

They’re actually kind of ugly…

But JP was rather fascinated by them:

IMG_5306.JPG

IMG_5303.JPG

JP has a bit of a shoe obsession so he was more than happy to try them on for me. You guys, the little straps started to crumble when I stretched them over his feet! These old things are practically disintegrating! But hey, I guess I got to see them in action one more time!

I’m not sure what I’ll do with them now. Probably put them in a box: nestle them beside my old tap-shoes (which were only ever used for dress-up) and my jelly sandal (only one can be found) I bought on that fateful family trip to Texas.

I’m interested to know if you, dear readers, have any childhood relics still hanging around your basements and attics.

5 Responses to “Ruby Slippers”

  1. Lisa September 23, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

    Cute story! Funny how enamoured we can be with something when we’re kids eh? Ahhh nostalgia!

  2. southergirl September 22, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    I think it’s fantastic that you have items from your childhood. As I contemplated your question, I realized I did not have any relics from my past, which in hindsight is a shame. In my younger days (late teens), I either donated, threw out or gave away to friends siblings all my stuff. My greatest regret was giving away my Chrissy Doll. I do wish I had it now like you and your ruby slippers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • L.W. September 22, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      Too bad you didn’t keep anything! No offence intended, but it’s hard to believe there isn’t something from your childhood tucked away in your dad’s house. The only problem is, you’d have to find it.
      Jason doesn’t have much from his childhood either, just his hospital ID bracelet and a box of special tree ornaments. I, on the other hand, have soooooo many things from my younger years. I have a hard time letting go apparently.

    • L.W. September 22, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      Maybe you could find a Chrissy doll on eBay!

      • southergirl September 22, 2014 at 11:21 pm #

        No artifacts that I’m aware of. ๐Ÿ™‚

        No to buying one either. It wouldn’t have that special sentimental attachment to it that you’d have if it had been kept.

        Again, I think it’s great that you’ve kept a lot of your stuff. Please nestle the ruby slippers beside those tap shoes and anything else that holds a special place in your heart.

        xoxoxo

Talk to me

