Birthday Giveaway!

28 Jul

In one week I will be thirty-one years old.

There will be no big parties but, like last year, there will be a reader giveaway!

To enter, all you need to do is leave me a “birthday wishes” comment!

It’s so simple!

The contest will close at midnight on August 3 and I will have one of my children pull a name on my actual birthday, the 4th.

So…what are you playing for?

A lot!

Last year, on my thirtieth, I gave away a gift certificate to my favourite restaurant, The Sovereign Room. This year, I’m give away a whole bag full of my favourite products!!

A whole bag!

In fact, the bag is one of the products. Observe:

20140727-100657-36417744.jpg
I love CBC Radio. I grew up listening to CBC and it has introduced me to so many wonderful people, both locally and nation-wide. Of course I am an LU Radio girl, but the CBC is a Canadian institution. If Stephen Harper would leave it alone and stop trying to destroy something so wonderful, the CBC will hopefully be around for generations to come.

Next:

20140727-101922-37162328.jpg
Scrubbie – I don’t actually know what this is called, but it is essentially a high quality scrubber sponge. You can use it on any surface (counters, bathroom appliances, cupboards, stainless sinks, floors, dishes) with or without soap and it cleans anything. It might not get off, say a rust stain in a stainless steel sink, but anything baked, caked, or otherwise stuck is coming off with this scrubber! You can use it for about a year with regular washes in the dishwasher or washing machine. I started noticing these scrubbers around town at a few locally owned boutiques and bought one on a whim. Then I was hooked and had to buy more. I gave some away at my birthday party last year, I gave some as Christmas gifts, and I even convinced my American cousins to buy some during their last visit! A true marker of getting older is being excited and entranced by a simple scrubber, but there you go.

Next:

20140727-102125-37285995.jpg
Buncha Farmers Stain Remover – A few years ago, while searching for information about essential oils, I came across a product called Buncha Farmers Stain Remover. Of course the name intrigued me and I wanted to know more! I looked online for Canadian sellers of this product and I checked out all the major chain retailers hoping to find it. My search proved fruitless and I gave up. Then a year ago, I found it in a local boutique and excitedly grabbed it, screeching something like, “I’ve been looking for you all over the place!!” I took it home, tried it, loved it, then went back to the store and bought more! This stain remover is a solid rectangular stick of wax-like consistency and made with a combination of several essential oils. You are to rub the stick on a stain like a crayon, then wash normally. Even the toughest and oldest stains are supposed to come out with minimal effort. I rubbed the stick on all my stained baby clothes (back when I had a baby) and it got rid of them all! Then I – this is the real selling point – rubbed the stick on old blood stains and, within a few washes, the blood was gone! Amazing!

Next:

20140727-102353-37433274.jpg
Poo-pourri – I heard the name and I was intrigued. Then I found it at a local boutique and bought it. I didn’t know if it was going to work, but dear readers…it does. What you do is spray into the toilet bowl a few times to ensure the water is coated in a thin film of poo-pourri. Then you do your business, flush, and that’s it! The film of poo-pourie on the water acts as a barrier and doesn’t let scent escape. It’s not such a big deal if you’re at home, but it’s a great product for your purse (it comes in travel size) and a much appreciated luxury for when guests are over. I know, I know, everybody poops, it’s natural blah blah blah. I don’t like smelling anybody’s excrement and that’s why I love this product. I’ve tried it out several times (in public washrooms) and now I always carry the travel size in my purse. Just in case! And watch the commercial, it’s hilarious!

Next:

20140727-102541-37541823.jpg
Painted Stone from Art by: Cat Free – I love Cat’s art because so much of it focuses on trees and rocks. Trees and rocks are two incredibly Canadian elements and it’s ever-present in Cat’s artwork with her bright colours, simple brush strokes, and beautiful designs. I’ve written about Cat here for a previous collaboration and she was generous enough to allow me one of her adorable and quirky painted stones for this particular giveaway. More of Cat’s artwork can, of course, be viewed in her Facebook group.

Next:

20140727-102659-37619377.jpg
White beaded three strand necklace from H-C Creations Jewelry – Another familiar face: I’ve written about Tara and her jewelry business twice before and I count her work among my favourite. Of course, it’s not all my style, but that’s ok because she has so many difference styles to choose from! The variety of jewelry is vast and plentiful. I get overwhelmed because there are too many choices. I took the choice out of the equation for you by picking an elegant white necklace for this giveaway. If you’d like to see more of what Tara has to offer, please visit her Facebook page. A jewelry making sabbatical will likely be in effect soon as Tara will be giving birth any second…but keep watching her page and I’m sure she’ll start updating when she’s ready to get back into the beads! You’ll also find her (or a helper) at the Westfort Street Fair on August 23rd from 9-5. There’s a good chance she’ll be toting a tiny infant.

Next:

20140727-102955-37795631.jpg
Turtle Island Painting by Minowewegabow Art (also known as Kevin Belmore) – One day, I saw a man at the Farmer’s Market surrounded by prints. He was hunched over a piece of paper, working meticulously on a painting of blueberries. I said, “That is awesome!” and he said, “Twenty bucks!” I said, “Sold!” I bought it and took it right home; the paint wasn’t even dry yet (he warned me to wait until it dried before framing it). After that, I continued to buy bits and pieces of Kevin’s artwork, including special commissions as gifts, prints for myself, and greetings cards. Kevin has also been kind enough to donate artwork for LU Radio events, as well as this Eating Dirt “event.” He is an amazingly talented artist and an extremely down-to-earth family man. He doesn’t advertise his work on a personal website or Facebook page, but through word-of-mouth he has been able to provide artwork for a huge variety of clientele all over North Western Ontario. You can find Kevin at the Thunder Bay Country market.

I know this grouping seems to be a real mish-mash of products seemingly unrelated. You could actually put them into two categories: art and household cleaning products (haha!). But what really ties these items together is love.

Yes love!

As in, I love all this stuff! I want you to love it too!

37 Responses to “Birthday Giveaway!”

  1. Tara August 3, 2014 at 8:03 pm #

    Happy Birthday Leah!
    You deserve a giant party… Why are you not having one? Don’t tell me you’re waiting for 40?

    Would love to try out your favourite things!

    Have the happiest of happy days!!!

  2. Sarah de Bakker August 3, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Happy (almost) 31st birthday, Leebs!

    Let me know how it feels – I’ll be joining you in four months, after all. 😉

    PS (or, rather, P-EW!) the Poo-pourri commercial is hilarious.

  3. Devon aka SCB August 2, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

    Happy birthday VB!!!!!!!! Form of an Ice Dragon! Eaaaaaaagle!

  4. lizalyn July 30, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

    Leah, I hope your three wonderful boys spoil you rotten on your special day! You truly deserve it! I love reading your blog, which J reposts all the time so I remember to do so. A lot of your posts make me remember that we, as moms, are not alone in our internal struggle to be good moms. Thanks for sharing your thoughts so eloquently with us all!! Happy Birthday!

    • L.W. July 30, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks for reading! You’re right, we are in this journey together!
      I hope my boys spoil me too!

  5. Elizabeth July 30, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    Happy early birthday! It’s so nice of you to give to others on your birthday. A wonderful tradition!

    • L.W. July 30, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

      Thanks! Two years in a row, I might as well make it a tradition!

  6. Ian McLeod July 30, 2014 at 9:02 am #

    Happy birthday!! I like your blog.

    • L.W. July 30, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

      Thank you x 2!!

  7. Travis Watts July 30, 2014 at 8:52 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! Hope you get more than you give.

    • L.W. July 30, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks! I hope so too, haha!

  8. Stephanie July 28, 2014 at 3:36 pm #

    Happy early birthday Leah! I’m so intrigued by the things you chose to put in the bag. We should go out to celebrate when I visit! 🙂

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

      Ohhh, if you would only tell me when you’re coming to town then we could make plans!!

  9. Laura July 28, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

    Happy Birthday to a beautiful woman who inspires me with her blog posts…and that would be you. 🙂

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

      Wow, what a great compliment! Thank you! And thanks for reading!

  10. Lisa laco July 28, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    I love that you’re getting “comfortable in your own skin”. We women can be pretty hard on ourselves ..especially in our twenties. I loved my 30’s.. 40’s were even better. And now at 57.. I am who I am.. And proud of it! You remind me of “me”. Watch out world!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

      Whoa-oh, here she comes, watch out world…
      Now that’s stuck in my head!
      Thanks for the nice words Lisa! So far my 30s haven’t disappointed me (though they’ve really just begun!).

  11. Katie Hughdie July 28, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    Great contest Leah! I will share it! I had a lot of fun at your birthday party last year – I imagine you thinking and planning it for a long time. It was so great. As for your favourite items, I love the scrubbie and so want to try the poo-pourri (as per our discussion about it! Ha!) Good luck with the contest!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks Katie!
      Yes, I thought and planned (and saved money) for two years! So it can’t be a yearly endeavour that’s for sure! Perhaps another funky party for age 35!
      You won’t be disappointed in the poo-pourri, hahaha!

  12. Erin Waddington July 28, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    Happy Birthday! Here’s to embracing your thirties which are so much better than your twenties! Old enough to be comfortable with yourself and young enough to enjoy everything life throws at you!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 11:46 am #

      Thanks Erin! I think you’re totally right, because I am caring less and less about what people think and feeling more and more comfortable in my own skin. I think (hope) it’s going to be a great year!

  13. Liz July 28, 2014 at 11:33 am #

    Happy Birthday Leah! I really want to know where you bought the scrubbie…was given one as a gift and loved it…

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 11:45 am #

      Thanks! I found the scrubbers at Thunder Bay community co-op and Authentique (right by the register)

  14. Chrissie July 28, 2014 at 10:50 am #

    Giving stuff away on YOUR bday again?! Just one of the many ways you show your big heart Mrs Eating Dirt! I hope I win because I would love to try that stain remover! Having found out recently on my 35th bday (yikes! Big surprise for all. A happy one tho!)) that we are expecting again I would really love to check it out myself after reading about your success with baby clothing especially! If I don’t win I will have to buy it anyway though. So happy birthday-soon- and thank you for another opportunity to win more stuff! (and to give you my news in a very public way! Lol. We have only told close friends and family so far, haven’t even mentioned it on Facebook yet so telling you and the Eating Dirt family is our first big technological step! Lol!!)

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 11:01 am #

      I like to give stuff away!!
      Congratulations on this new life you’re growing! I would definitely recommend the stain remover for things like spit up and big baby barfs!
      Too much excitement!!

  15. Diane Prairie! July 28, 2014 at 10:03 am #

    What an amazing goodie bag! If I won I’d think it was my birthday! Happy 31st LW!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 10:30 am #

      Haha, thank you!

  16. Karen July 28, 2014 at 9:42 am #

    No party??? Oh but you must celebrate….birthday’s should be celebrated!!!!! annnnnnddddd HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 10:30 am #

      Thank you! I kind of over-spent at my amazing party last year…so this year it will be a small celebration!

  17. Barbara Y. July 28, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    A lot of interesting stuff. I’ll stock up on some, even if I don’t win! Happy birthday Leah – nice memories of your party last year.

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 10:31 am #

      I have some good memories from last year too! You should definitely try some of those products Barb!!

  18. Lindsay K July 28, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    As if you’re not having a big party this year! I totally missed out! If I would have only met you a month earlier, eh? I better be invited to your next milestone party, the over the hill party! 😉

    Happy birthday week!

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 10:29 am #

      Maybe I’ll have a birthday party for 35! That’s kind of a milestone!

  19. Jessica Wyua July 28, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    Hi Leah! Happy Birthday to you! I would have wished you a lovely day even without all the fantastic prizes – they are a nice bonus! 😉 Enjoy yourself and celebrate well!

    • Jessica Wyatt July 28, 2014 at 9:35 am #

      I have no idea how I spelled my name wrong … too early in the morning, maybe? It’s WYATT!! 😀

    • L.W. July 28, 2014 at 10:28 am #

      Thank you! And I was wondering about Wyua…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to get that stain out… | eating dirt - September 9, 2014

    […] You might recognize this product from my birthday giveaway extravaganza. […]

Talk to me

