Tattoos

14 Jul

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I love tattoos!

Most people have tattoos nowadays. Or, to be more precise, most people between the ages 18 and 45 have at least one small tattoo.

Obviously, I don’t have researched data to back up that statement, but in my various social circles, the number of tattooed people outnumbers the non-tattooed people. Tattoos are becoming more common-place and it’s no longer shocking to see a bit of ink peeking out from underneath clothing.

Despite tattoos being more common, you’re less likely to see people sporting large pieces that cover a lot of skin. Without getting into the politics or the sociology of it, a person with full sleeves will be perceived and treated differently than a person with one or two pieces of ink. And a woman with lots of tattoos will be treated differently than a man with lots of tattoos.

I am a tattooed person and some of my tattoos are visible most of the time. I don’t know how many there are because some of them kind of blend into others. At best guess, I’d say there are about 15 tattoos scattered around my skin. In my opinion, it doesn’t feel like a lot, but compared to someone with a solitary tattoo, I guess it is a lot.

I’ve wanted tattoos since I was old enough to understand what tattoos were. I got my first tiny tattoo at age 18 and received very positive feedback.

Oh cute tattoo! Adorable! I can’t believe you did it!

When the tattoo collection started growing, the comments started changing:

It must be nice to be able to afford tattoos.

Oh, another one?

Why would you want to ruin such a cute body?

Don’t you think you have enough now?

You’ll regret it.

What are you going to do when you’re old and wrinkly?

It’s time to stop wasting money on tattoos.

How are you going to be a productive member of society with all those tattoos?

What if you want kids someday?

What does your husband think of all those tattoos?

Or my favourite…

What will you do if your kids want tattoos?

Tomorrow I will be addressing this ignorance and sharing a cute photo that started me thinking about these kinds of comments in the first place.

One Response to “Tattoos”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ugly Tattooed People | eating dirt - September 12, 2014

    […] weeks ago, I wrote a little bit about tattoos and being a tattooed woman. Continuing […]

Talk to me

