Pizza of course

20 Dec

What’s your favourite food?

Did you say pizza?

What a coincidence, mine too!

If you live in Thunder Bay and you love pizza, you should definitely check out Eat Local Pizza and Pastry, located at 401 North May Street (just a few steps past Toy Sense).

Or, you can find them at the Thunder Bay Country Market on Saturday mornings.

eatlocalpizza-blackboard

They only serve one size of pizza but you can put anything you want on it. There are many specialty options to choose from (such as bbq chicken, butter chicken, jerk pork, perogie, and philly cheese steak), but there are dozens of topping choices to check out if any of the signature dishes don’t appeal to you.

Pepperoni.Ham.Bacon.Kielbasa.Ground Beef.Eggs.Fresh Garlic.Onion.Tomato.Green Olives.Black Olives.Green Peppers.Hot Peppers.Mushrooms.Pineapple.Parmesan.Mozzarella.Feta.Pickles.

If pizza isn’t your thing, check out the cupcakes and the cookies!

If you just hate good things like pizza and cupcakes, you should still consider dropping by to buy a bottle of pop because owner Jim Stadey is man with a heart of gold.

We work hand in hand with the dedicated groups and people devoted to food security in Thunder Bay.

Our business philosophy is centered around building bridges between farmers, local producers, delis and community groups, neighbourhoods and interested individuals.

As we to strive to combine idealism with business acumen, we become more and more appreciative of the support we have received from the community thus far.

Our motto is to be a proactive resource for food security in the city, making sure food is available for those who need it while providing new and interesting products to our amazing motivating customers.

Jim has no problem giving pizza away to someone who is hungry and down on his or her luck; he loves working with local businesses and charities to provide pizza for the needy people of Thunder Bay.

His mission in 2013 was to give away 3000 pizzas to hungry people.

1385252_659192987448006_1768538664_n

Now, you may not be needy, but I bet you’re hungry! Doesn’t that pizza look good!

Jim says he has been eating pizza every day for the past 15 years. He wants everybody to love pizza and he has given me one coupon for a FREE PIZZA for one lucky local reader!

Please comment on this blog post with your favourite pizza toppings and you will be entered into the draw.

Saturday, I will pick a name at random, using this random number generator and Sunday I will deliver the pizza coupon to your door (unless you live far in the country, then you’ll have to meet me halfway!).

8 Responses to “Pizza of course”

  1. Kyle Lees December 21, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    I was on a weird feta-tomato-mushrooms-onions-olives-hot-sauce-barbecue-sauce kick for a while, but Iv’e gone back to basics/become el cheapo in the past little while and have been sticking to plain cheese. Hopefully Buzz doesn’t eat the whole thing before I have a slice, or I’m going to wish that I didn’t have a family at all.

  2. Mike Aylward December 20, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    I love feta cheese, peppers, bacon, mushrooms, pepperoni…yum yum..

  3. Chrissie December 20, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    This is why I love your blog L.W- you have introduced me to many local businesses that I have either never heard of or wasnt sure I wanted to try until I read what you had written about their products!! (The free giveaways/contests are great too of course! Lol). I absolutely love pizza but I have been called a boring pizza person because all I like on my pizza is extra cheese. No pepperoni (or meat of any kind), no veggies, no fruit, no extra sauce, just lots and lots of cheese! Can’t wait til Sunday now!

  4. Samira December 20, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    I love that Eat Local offers pickles! My other faves are pineapple and green olives and banana peppers.

  5. Lindsay K December 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Pickles!!! N’ olives n’ tomatoes! Yum. I love eat local, it’s the only place we order from. 🙂

  6. donna December 20, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Their pizza and brownies are delicious! I love pizza. (And I would be glad to meet you halfway 🙂 )

  7. Jason Wellwood December 20, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Jim is an inspiration, and makes me feel like I don’t work anywhere near hard enough for the community! His belief in giving food to people who can’t afford it and selling food to people who can afford it is awesome! The food (the pizza and the baking) is incredible, and my personal favourite is the BBQ Chicken pizza. This isn’t an official entry (obviously) but a recommendation for anyone who might be wondering what to order with their coupon!

  8. Tara Hahkala-Crawford December 20, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Yum!
    Eat Local Pizza is my favourite pizza and served with a side of great intentions!
    Please enter me in the draw!

Talk to me

