Nowadays, nobody dies…

25 Oct

With movies like World War Z and shows like The Walking Dead, it’s pretty obvious that Zombies are very popular. But they’ve always been popular, as evidenced by really early movies like Dawn of the Dead.

I think the whole zombie horror genre is just exploding right now and I must admit that I myself am a fan. Not an obsessive fan, but a fan nonetheless. I enjoyed the old black and white Night of the Living Dead (and the many sequels), and I liked the 2004 Dawn of the Dead remake with Sarah Polley. I enjoyed World War Z and I love The Walking Dead. Another favourite was 2002’s 28 Days Later.

I’m not sure why I enjoy this type of entertainment because I’m not a huge fan of gore. But I love reading post apocalyptic books; these zombie outbreak stories fit right in with that theme in the sense that the world as we know it is over and the survivors have to fight and rebuild. When reading or watching, I imagine myself in the place of my favourite characters and I wonder how I would do in a similar situation. Most of the time, I think, “Yep, I would be sooooooooooooooo dead if that happened.” But occasionally, I like to think I’d have a fighting chance if the world “ended” and I had to start a new life in a post apocalyptic wasteland.

You know what’s really exciting?

A zombie story set on my home turf in North Western Ontario!

Kurt Martell is a Thunder Bay resident, he’s a great father and partner, he’s a great DJ on LU Radio, he does great work at his bar-tending job, and he’s a good friend; a good guy to have in your corner. He has also spent a great chunk of his adult life dreaming and writing out his own version of a Zombie story. It’s called Nowadays…and guess what? Nobody dies!

282281_644237345601768_150843481_n

It’s different from many zombie narratives in that the dead who come back as zombies are sentient beings, usually quite capable of independent thought. From their facebook profile:

The gritty, atmospheric tale of a small group of people amidst the emergence of … something… horrific. The dead are rising, and they need to feed. Some seem to be mindless monsters while others retain their minds and perhaps, their humanity. Follow the victims and the monsters, the innocent and the terrible, the living and the dead as they fight for survival, travelling across NW Ontario, searching for hope and answers.

Kurt wrote all the words but he didn’t do everything himself: his good friend Christopher Merkley provided the artwork for the story and it’s amazing. I don’t know much about Christopher Merkley except that he’s very nice and he does part time work at the Thunder Bay Community Co-Op (which I’ve referenced on this blog several times). You can check out Christopher’s website here.

The illustrator and the author at Fan Expo 2013

The illustrator and the author at Fan Expo 2013

artwork by Merk

artwork by Merk

artwork by Merk

artwork by Merk

Nowadays is a graphic novel and each panel of artwork was created using photographs of real scenery in North Western Ontario. The characters in the book were based of real people and many of the zombie pictures were created using pictures of indiegogo sponsors as a reference. My husband makes an appearance as a really scary zombie in chapter 9.

Jason and I donated to the Nowadays indiegogo campaign last year and we attended the book launch in November of 2012. We got the book as part of our contribution perks and I grabbed it and read it in two hours. I was sad to have finished it so quickly because that means….it’s done!

I’m done the book and I can never read it again…for the first time!

But there will be sequels I’m sure!

To keep up to date on what’s going on in the Nowadays world, be sure to like them on Facebook!

And even though I can never read Kurt’s book again for the first time, someone else out there still has that chance! Because I have a book to give away to readers!

YES!

I DO!

Kurt kindly gave me an extra copy (but my husband forgot to ask him to autograph it, sorry) and I get to give it away to one lucky reader!

Please comment on this post with your favourite scary movie and I will pick a random winner on Halloween!

I will pick the winner after my kids are done trick-or-treating and tucked safely in bed…

…away from all the zombies.

artwork by Merk

artwork by Merk

12 Responses to “Nowadays, nobody dies…”

  1. Jason Wellwood October 26, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    Husband will ensure that the copy is autographed by both author and illustrator before it is sent to the winner!

    • L.W. October 26, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      I think the winner will be very appreciative!

  2. Wendy Gaudette October 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    It is a hard pic but I have to say the Poltergeist movies. I loved them as a kid (even though they scared me shhh lol). They remind me of Gr 5 and me and my friends having sleepover watching all the movies (as well as Jason and Freddy lol)

    • L.W. October 25, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Classic scary movies! I really enjoyed the first Poltergeist movie!

  3. Ryan M. October 25, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    I have to say, I love Clive Barker’s Hellraiser…although The Exorcist is probably THE scary movie of all scary movies…

    • L.W. October 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      I’ve never actually seen the exorcist all the way through…too scary!

  4. Ashley October 25, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    I love scary movies…but I don’t find most of them scary….I am though terrified of clowns so I guess It is pretty scary…..I love the Halloween movies as well!

    • L.W. October 25, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      How did I not know that you were scared of clowns?

  5. Lisa October 25, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    ooooh – I have so many favourite scary films and also a big fan of zombie apocolypse type films, but the ones I especially like to watch around Halloween are the classics (and many would argue there are a few on this list that aren’t at all scary); Child’s Play, Beetlejuice, Night of the Living Dead, Army of Darkness, The Addams Family. The scariest film I’ve seen recently is REC – highly recommend it! And no need to enter me in the draw, already have the book! 🙂

    • L.W. October 25, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      I love a lot of those classics too!

  6. Marie October 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    I don’t know exactly when I became such a wimp because now I’m totally terrified of scary movies. However I do remember around the age of maybe 11 or 12 being obsessed with all the nightmare on elm street movies.

    • L.W. October 25, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      Hmmm…I didn’t know you were such a wimp! I would imagine your wimpy-ness arrived around December 2011…

Talk to me

