Nostril Drama

8 Oct

Back in….1989 I think it was, my mom brought my brother and I to visit extended family in rural Manitoba. We visited at my Great-Uncle’s house with his grandchildren. I don’t have very clear memories about that time but I do remember that a blond little girl (one of my great-uncle’s grandchildren) put a piece of macaroni up her nose.

My mom and the girl’s mom spent quite a long time trying to get the macaroni out and eventually they decided to make her sniff pepper in hopes that she would sneeze. Someone had just suggested upping the ante to red pepper when the girl sneezed and out came the macaroni. Everybody cheered! And the macaroni up the nose story was talked about in our family for years.

Actually, we still talk about it sometimes. Macaroni up the nose makes quite an impression on a young child!

It must have, considering it’s one of the only things I remember about that trip!

I was so scarred by the macaroni incident that I never once tried to put any food or foreign object into my nose or ears while growing up. I don’t think my brother did either.

When I had my first child, I sometimes worried he might put something up his nose and it would get stuck. Sometimes I worry about ridiculous things that would never happen in a million years. But a toddler putting something up his nose is a pretty likely possibility.

Sure enough, when RJ was just over a year old, he put a pea up his nose. I didn’t see him do it, but I saw it up there when he tipped his head back to laugh.

I freaked out!

I wondered if it would go further back and eventually come out in his throat. I thought if it happened at night he might choke in his sleep! I wondered if it could get stuck in his sinus cavity or go into his brain somehow. I wondered if it would just stay in his nose and start to rot.

I called tele-health to talk to a public health nurse and she suggested I lay RJ down on his back, hold the unencumbered nostril closed and breath sharply into his mouth. By doing this, hopefully the pea would just pop out! I tried and tried (and thankfully RJ laughed and laughed) but the pea never came out.

In fact, it might still be up there….

No, I’m sure it eventually went down the back of his throat, but I never did see the pea come out of RJ’s nose.

Yesterday I had better success with nostril related drama.

JP was chowing down on peanuts.

You can see where this is going.

I didn’t see the peanut go in, but noticed it up there after he tipped his head back in a laugh.

I tried to pick it out but that just pushed it further. I silently freaked out while wondering what to do. A peanut is a lot harder than a pea and might make him choke…

Then I remembered the tele-health advice from years prior. I laid JP down and blew into his mouth real quickly!

Success!

Out popped the peanut!

I cheered. JP cheered. It was a triumphant moment indeed.

Just thought I’d share this bit of advice in case a child you know happens to put something up his or her nose.

As you can see, in my experience, the ‘blow in the mouth’ method has worked 50% of the time! If your child puts a peanut up his nose, it can’t hurt to hold the empty nostril shut and give a big blow into the mouth.

Or maybe your child has already put something up his or her nose… If so, what did you do about it?

One Response to “Nostril Drama”

  1. Chrissie October 9, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Thank u for that advice! Luckily my children have never put anything up their nose ( or swallowed anything bad like money or a dinky car- yes that actually happened to a child!!!:0) but I babysit a little girl who does it often. So far she has been lucky and managed to always sneeze the objects out (a raisin, watermelon seed, blueberry, and some fuzz just to name a few things that I know of for sure!!!)but it’s nice to knOw there’s anOther option just in case! I hope that yesterday was your final experience with nostril drama!! Lol

Talk to me

