Travel Blogging: Exhausted in Dryden

2 Sep

I’ve always thought the best part of traveling was coming home again.

Over my thirty years of living, my family has been to southern Manitoba many times, to Alberta a few times, Southern Ontario a few times, and to Texas once. But it’s Dryden that has been the consistent travel choice throughout my childhood, teen years, and adulthood. It’s four hours west of Thunder Bay and my grandmother (and other family members and friends) live there.

Even a trip to somewhere as close and easy as Dryden has always exhausted me. Is that a sign that I’m a homebody? It’s such an easy trip to make but it can still seem like an insurmountable task.

As a child, I remember confiding in my mom that I was sure Gramma’s gas stove made me tired. What other explanation could there be? We (my brother and I) were spoiled by my Gramma and aside from washing dishes, all we were expected to do was sleep in and watch tv. The trips to Gramma’s house were anything but strenuous. But I could barely keep my eyes open.

What’s changed now is that when I go to Dryden, I bring one or both children and I get no sleep (because the kids are terrible sleepers when not in their own beds with their regular routines) and I float around like an exhausted zombie.

My kids enjoy themselves but get progressively whinier the longer we stay. We knew that after two nights of no sleep, we had to get back to our own beds. The drive home seemed much longer than the drive there.

Are my kids homebodies because Jason and I are? Or would they love traveling if we could afford to do it more often?

At any rate, we had a fun little family visit in Dryden but we were all deliriously happy to be in our own home again.

Here are some photos of my children in Dryden (no photos of other family members out of respect for their privacy):

The obsession with Gramma's rain barrel goes back many years to when my brother Jesse was a child.

The obsession with Gramma’s rain barrel goes back many years to when my brother Jesse was a child.

Can't leave the bird bath alone...good thing it looked clean.

Can’t leave the bird bath alone…good thing it looked clean.

My cousin's trampoline

My cousin’s trampoline

Jason and the boys in the lake at my cousin's house

Jason and the boys in the lake at my cousin’s house

RJ is extremely safety conscious: water wings, life jacket, and floaty ring!

RJ is extremely safety conscious: water wings, life jacket, and floaty ring!

JP getting ready to go in the water...

JP getting ready to go in the water…

RJ and I eating wild blueberries.  And ice cream!

RJ and I eating wild blueberries. And ice cream!

RJ and JP in my Gramma's tv room watching the weather channel.  The weather channel is an amazing novelty because we don't have cable at home!

RJ and JP in my Gramma’s tv room watching the weather channel. The weather channel is an amazing novelty because we don’t have cable at home!

This picture was taken just before we got in the car to drive home.  This was before the crying started...

This picture was taken just before we got in the car to drive home. This was before the crying started…

Glad we went. Glad I got pictures. Glad to be home.

We’ll probably go back again next summer.

2 Responses to “Travel Blogging: Exhausted in Dryden”

  1. Stacy September 2, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I think everyone loves their own beds! We are travellers and my kids slept in 8 different beds, and rode on planes, trains, boats, and cars this summer. They are pretty good at going and sleeping wherever but they still sleep best and are at their best when we are home. Home is good!

    • L.W. September 2, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      8 beds?! I’m amazed!

Talk to me

