Whimsical Creations

28 May

Yesterday I announced the Sew Whimsical reader giveaway. I invited readers to enter the contest by either leaving a comment about something they made (good or bad) or send me a picture of something they made (good or bad).

Chrissie commented about a baby quilt she made,
I was never very good with a sewing machine even though I tried in Home Ec class. When I got pregnant the first time I wanted to make something for my little girl. I always wanted to try cross-stitch so I went looking. Instead of starting small, like a bib, I went for a baby quilt! After months of time, effort and frustration I finally finished it! It turned out pretty good for a first try and now both my girls love using it. They tell everyone that, “our mommy made this!”

I think that’s so amazing to tackle a quilt for a first-time project! Thanks for sharing Chrissie!

No pictures submitted so far. Maybe I can get the ball rolling:

The denim quilt I made when I was 16 years old.

The denim quilt I made when I was 16 years old.

A gorgeous quilt sent to RJ from Great-Aunt Jan.

A gorgeous quilt sent to RJ from Great-Aunt Jan.

A sweet and simple quilt made for RJ by neighbour Pat.

A sweet and simple quilt made for RJ by neighbour Pat.

A quilt made by Jason's grandmother Donna many years ago.

A quilt made by Jason’s grandmother Donna many years ago.

A crocheted afghan made for me by co-worker Samantha before my maternity leave.

A crocheted afghan made for me by co-worker Samantha before my maternity leave.

An amazing jungle themed quilt made by old high school friend Jacinta.

An amazing jungle themed quilt made by old high school friend Jacinta.

RJ with his fleece quilt, a Christmas present from Gramma Julie.

RJ with his fleece quilt, a Christmas present from Gramma Julie.

And finally a blanket for my second born: JP with a great quilt made by friend Amiée.

And finally a blanket for my second born: JP with a great quilt made by friend Amiée.

Handmade gifts are treasures. We’re so fortunate to be surrounded by creative people.

Don’t forget to visit yesterday’s post to read about the contest!

2 Responses to “Whimsical Creations”

  1. Jason May 28, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    The quilt by my Grandma, was actually my Grandma Donna (my father’s mother). It was made for my brother when he was first born. It was the last thing I think she ever sewed before her hands and eyesight became too bad.

    • L.W. May 28, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

      I’ll change it, thanks.

Talk to me

