My Children are Crying

30 Apr

My Gramma loves pictures of crying babies. She says every mother should take a picture of red-faced-teary-eyed babies and kids because she gets sick of seeing all those gorgeous and perfect portraits.

When my youngest was a few months old, I took this picture for my Gramma:

So cute!  Love that squishy red face!

So cute! Love that squishy red face!

My friend Kara recently sent me a link to a tumblr called Reasons My Son is Crying. It’s hilarious!

Parents of young children will sympathize greatly with the dad who started this tumblr. It seems as if he’s opened up his tumblr to submissions so now you can see lots of different kids crying for funny and silly reasons! I was laughing in recognition from picture after picture, “Hey, my boys cried about that too!”

I regret not taking more pictures of my crying children because photographing the madness of toddler tantrums is a great way to maintain sanity. If you can take a picture, then you can find the humour in the situation, and humour is what gets us through the toddler years.

In honour of my Gramma, and the dad who started the original tumblr, and parents everywhere, here are my children crying:

RJ is crying because I won't open the cupboard door

RJ is crying because I won’t open the cupboard door

RJ is crying because I wouldn't give him the camera

RJ is crying because I wouldn’t give him the camera

RJ is crying because he has puréed food on his face and hands

RJ is crying because he has puréed food on his face and hands

RJ is crying because he hates his snow suit

RJ is crying because he hates his snow suit

RJ is crying because he can't get the magnets to match up properly

RJ is crying because he can’t get the magnets to match up properly

RJ is crying because the calculator isn't doing what he wants it to...

RJ is crying because the calculator isn’t doing what he wants it to…

RJ is crying because he doesn't want to share his toys with JP

RJ is crying because he doesn’t want to share his toys with JP

RJ is crying because I wouldn't sit on the wet grass with him

RJ is crying because I wouldn’t sit on the wet grass with him

JP is crying because RJ pushed him away from the train table.  Sadly for him, a lot of JP's reasons for crying have to do with his big brother...

JP is crying because RJ pushed him away from the train table. Sadly for him, a lot of JP’s reasons for crying have to do with his big brother…

JP is crying because RJ is squeezing his neck.  See, this one makes sense too.

JP is crying because RJ is squeezing his neck. See, this one makes sense too.

JP is crying because I was trying to hold him still for a picture.  Being held still is obviously torture for an active toddler.

JP is crying because I was trying to hold him still for a picture. Being held still is obviously torture for an active toddler.

JP is crying because he hates his snow suit...  a very common reason for tears in this household.

JP is crying because he hates his snow suit… a very common reason for tears in this household.

JP is crying because he doesn't want to wear rabbit ears.

JP is crying because he doesn’t want to wear rabbit ears.

JP is crying because RJ wouldn't let him climb into the storage ottoman

JP is crying because RJ wouldn’t let him climb into the storage ottoman

JP is crying because he can't open the blue case.

JP is crying because he can’t open the blue case.

So, do your toddlers and young children break down in tears for ridiculous reasons? And more importantly, do you photograph them while they cry? If not, you should. Because it’s funny. But not when they actually fall or get hurt. Don’t take pictures of that because it’s less funny.

6 Responses to “My Children are Crying”

  1. Barbara Y. May 2, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    I loved it despite all the sad photos. So true!

  2. Devon April 30, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    Reminds me so much of Thomas’ Snowsuit!!!!!!! Munsch classic 🙂

    • L.W. May 1, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      Amazing how so much of my life now mimics classic Munsch…

  3. Lisa April 30, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    Awesome. The snowsuit pictures are pure gold.

    • L.W. April 30, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      I should have tried to find the one of ME crying in my snowsuit (from when I was 2, not last year or anything)

      • Jason April 30, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

        It was THIS year…

Talk to me

