The Small Things

5 Feb

Yesterday at school, RJ was the teacher’s special helper. Each child gets a turn and this week is RJ’s turn.

The special helper brings in a baby picture, a family picture, a favourite toy, a favourite book, and a little questionnaire of other favourites, all of which get placed on a bulletin board to honour the helper. The helper gets to sit in a special chair during carpet time, gets to be the first in line, and gets to do special chores like carry the library books to the library.

I was talking to my mom about how this special helper part of class is such a great idea because it’s a free way to make a child feel important.

While my older son was at school being the special helper, I was home with my younger son. While assembling ingredients for pizza crust, I heard little JP toddle into the kitchen. When I could tell he was behind me, I swiftly turned around, dropped to all fours, and shouted BOO! JP jumped a foot, screeched majestically, and hightailed it back to the living room laughing uproariously. This prompted a lengthy game of chase wherein all I had to do to elicit laughter is shout boo and take a menacing step towards my child.

When a baby is first born, he sees the world in fuzzy shapes and colours. As his vision becomes more clear, human faces become the most important and most interesting things in the world.

The baby grows and becomes amused by silly faces, funny voices, and lots of kisses. Then it’s peek-a-boo, This Little Piggy, Patty Cake, and dozens of other little games designed to stimulate and enlighten tiny brains. Before long, your toddler and pre school children are expecting complicated and detailed games of make believe. Obviously, it’s far more time and energy consuming to entertain a pre schooler than it is an infant!

A child grows and his tastes grow. Despite the fact that a four year old cannot be entertained by Peek-A-Boo, he is still entertained by simple things; he still experiences joy from the small things.

My two year old is at a point where ridiculous games of chase incites joy; my four year old is at a point where sitting in a big blue chair during class carpet time makes him happy.

The world is so big and time moves so quickly. It’s important slow down and think about the small things that bring you joy. Sometimes, with the fast pace of life, it’s hard to get in touch with the childlike innocence that finds chasing games and special helper duties to be so wonderful.

It’s the small things.

For me, it’s getting six hours of sleep in a row. It’s the clouds moving with the wind. It’s a low flying plane. It’s wild flowers growing in my lawn. These small, seemingly insignificant, things bring me joy.

What about you?

2 Responses to “The Small Things”

  1. Etta August 29, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Good way of describing, and fastidious paragraph to take
    data about my presentation topic, which i am going to
    convey in university.

  2. guide.nocesveo.com June 16, 2013 at 8:01 am #

    Hi, constantly i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the break of day, because i love to find out more and more.

Talk to me

