Carpet Problems

20 Oct

When we bought our house in February 2010, I wanted an area rug in the living room. I loved the beautiful (relatively new) laminate flooring in the living room and kitchen but I felt that a rug in the seating area would give it a cozy and warm feeling.

I chose a beige rug because it didn’t clash with the brown furniture and I thought a light colour would hide dirt and spills incurred from the daily happenings of living with small children.

But this particular rug, though cheap and poor quality, did not even attempt to do its job! It hid nothing!

I didn’t want an expensive rug precisely because of the small children. Spills were plentiful and there would be plenty of time for “nice” stuff later on. What’s the point of buying expensive things when children are continually leaking goo from every orifice?

Is there an age when that actually stops?

Anyway, after two years of my rough, stained, and dirty practice carpet, I wanted a new one. My new theory was to avoid light colours and go for something a bit darker…with a pattern! Surely a patterned carpet would camouflage the filth!

I’m basing this theory on the carpet in my mom’s front room, which never looks dirty!

And it works! The carpet is pretty good at hiding the debris of daily living! Plus it’s softer and thicker.

But maybe it works too good. Every day I step on teeny tiny toys that mysteriously find their way under my feet.

This morning, I stepped on a wooden dresser (dollhouse furniture) cleverly blending in with flowery embellishments, and my poor foot actually started bleeding.

So what will it be? An ugly carpet that shows every bit of dirt, or a pretty patterned piece that lays in wait for unsuspecting victims?

4 Responses to “Carpet Problems”

  1. Lindsay October 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Ugh, coloured, not computer
    Stupid iPhone

  2. Lindsay October 20, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Abby, not Anny

  3. Lindsay October 20, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    You’re lucky you don’t have a furry pet. We had to get an Anny computer area rug because the dog hair was ridiculous

  4. jenvdavis October 20, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Pretty pattern! I hate how my carpet looks dirty even after I vacuum because of all the stains.

Talk to me

