Wishing their Childhoods Away?

18 May

As a parent, have you ever said some version of the following:

My kids are so demanding and needy! Every day from dawn until dusk it’s Mommy mommy mommy! I spend all day cleaning and re-cleaning the same messes!

Or

I’m so tired! My kids fight bedtime, still wake up at night, and they wake up too early.

Or maybe

Ugh, when will these little brats just grow up already!!

If you’ve said anything like that, I’m willing to bed you’re a normal parent. You love your child but they can be annoying.

You know you love your child and I know you love your child, but if you even allude to the most minuscule of parenting hardships in front of (more than likely) a woman with older or grown children, be prepared for:

Enjoy these moments while you can.

In the blink of an eye, your kids will be moving out.

They grow up so fast!

Cherish them while they’re young, it goes by so fast.

Treasure this time when they’re young because you’ll miss it when they’re older.

Something like that. And yeah, it IS true. Time flies; they grow up so fast; I’ll miss my babies when they’re older.

But young mothers, or rather, mothers of young children, need to vent sometimes. Raising young children can be wonderful and amazing but it’s also damn hard. Being told over and over and over again to treasure these moments negates the real life difficulties of the present.

There’s no way I’m going to pretend my days are filled with laughing babies, giggling preschoolers, and unicorns farting rainbows. There’s a lot of crying, whining, fighting.

There’s also a lot of reassuring myself that something will SOON be over!!!

This pregnancy will soon be over…

This labour will soon be over…

I’ll feel like my old self soon…

He’ll sleep through the night soon…

Eventually he’ll have all his teeth and these fussy drooly times will be over…

He won’t always need me to lay beside him so he can sleep…

I’ll be done with formula soon enough…

I won’t always have to wipe his ass…

I’m always reassuring myself of something. I just have to grin and get through the annoyances. In that regard maybe it does seem like I’m wishing their childhoods away..

But like all the moms of grown children say, it does go by fast. And maybe some days I wished for the future with all my heart, but there are just as many days where I wish for a pause button. A “Dear Lord please stop time because my kids are so damn cute and I want them to stay this way forever” button.

And I’d do it again, you know.

If someone asked me, “Knowing what you know now, about all the difficulties and annoyances, would you do it again?”, the answer would always be a resounding YES!!!

Talk to me

