Yo Prids and Rumple Grump Slang

6 May

A couple years ago, I read a post on (the now defunct blog) BitchPhd and it has stuck with me ever since. One of the authors wrote about how her daughter came to use the (made up) term yo prid as a term of endearment. You can read the whole story here, but the short version is:

Little daughter named her cat Sophie, whose name transformed to So-so, then Hiya Dodo, the Yo Do. Later, on family vacation in a warm place plentiful with wild lizards, little daughter thinks the lizards scamper like her cat. And they are also pretty! So they become yo pretties, then eventually just yo prids, which becomes a word used to describe anything good and wonderful and nice.

Every so often I find my mind drifting back to this funny story and chuckling to myself. I love the way kids’ minds work! The backstory of how yo prid came to be is interesting because it shows the process of creativity and imagination. And yeah, it’s strange, but that’s part of what makes it so adorable. Let’s face it, the average child is very odd.

In my last post, I wrote about my son’s usage of the term tango said to tell us he’s thirsty. He’s been exasperating me for months!

I guess it’s funnier and cuter when other people’s children are talking nonsense. Or maybe nothing is funny in the middle of the night.

Anyway, a few days ago, the words yo prid popped into my mind. Instead of being irritated by tango said, I should just accept it as one of my child’s eccentricities (and he’s got plenty!). I trust that he won’t one day go to a bar with his friends and innocently look at the waiter and say, “Tango said??” No, he’ll have moved on by then and tango said will just be a memory that lives in my mind and in my blog.

So when my child is thirsty he says tango said. I should be able to deal with that.

Also, when he’s hungry he says, rumple grump slang. That comes from his Winnie the Pooh book, where Pooh has a rumbly in his tummy. Rumbly evolved into rumple grump slang, which is often followed by tango hamlay, which is a bastardization of “Tango hambre,” Spanish for I’m hungry. And that makes sense!

So I’m deciding right now that I don’t mind when RJ makes up words and phrases. But just for the record, this resolve does not apply between the hours of 11pm and 7am. If you need me during that time, you better make it quick.

Oh, and my resolve to enjoy made up words also doesn’t apply to baby-talk. Making up words shows imagination. It doesn’t take much imagination to say Goooooo Dada.

Now tell me, yo prids, does your child have any weird made up words/phrases that baffle and/or amuse you?

One Response to “Yo Prids and Rumple Grump Slang”

  1. stacy May 7, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    Um, Leah, I just figured it out!!! TENGO SED!!!! It is Spanish too! It is just like TENGO HAMBRE, but means thirsty! He IS saying “I’m thirsty!” I can’t believe I didn’t figure this out sooner! It took you saying the tengo hambre for me to realize…duh! Tengo sed-tango said. He is saying TENGO SED!!!!!!!!!!!! He’s just a Spanish genius! He may very well go into a bar someday and say “Tengo sed,” if he is in Spain or Mexico, that is!

Talk to me

