Wonderful Women Part 2

16 Mar

Reprinted from March 2009, in honour of International Women’s Day and Women’s History Month.

Girlfriends are very important. These six women are incredibly special to me because of the history and memories we share. At various points in my life, I considered these women the best of the best, due to how inseparable we were.

Devon:

Our mothers were in high school drama club together and then roomed together in University and other tiny apartments after graduation. Each mother had a daughter in the same year and those daughters (Devon and I) were very close friends for almost 8 years.

I can still remember the day they moved. Devon’s grandparents were in town helping them and I’m sure they were overjoyed that their granddaughter was coming to live in their town. I remember the Grandfather picking Devon up to show us how firemen carry people out of burning buildings. I was very impressed. Devon’s parting gift to me was a little goldfish named Jack.

As children, we spent a lot of time playing at each other’s houses and she frequently accompanied our family camping during the summer. After she moved, we visited a couple times of year and always got along and laughed about tv shows, music, magazines, and our little brothers.

Now when we’re together (once or twice a year) we spend much of the time laughing and reminiscing about our past adventures or finding out new things we have in common, including motherhood! I love getting together with Devon because I think hearing her laugh is one of the best things there is!

Devon is mother to a beautiful young daughter and seems to have about a million jobs and volunteering responsibilities to keep her busy. If she stays in the small town where she is, I foresee her having a very important leadership role some day. Devon is amazing.

Ashley:

We met when she was born. Our dads worked together and our families developed a friendship that has lasted to this very day. Ashley is about two years younger than me but I’ve never thought of her as younger because she’s always been taller than me.

Ashley was one of the many children my mom babysat over years. We kept up our friendship during those times and through our regular family visits and family adventures (camping, hiking, shopping). The memories with this girl (now woman) could fill a book.

Whenever Ashley was over to play, we had fun with the most ridiculous games. We played dress-up, went for walks, recorded albums on our cassette player, played Legos, Barbies, House, Store, School, played with Ashley’s giant doll-house, sharing our Nancy Drew and Price is Right obsessions, and oh so many board games.

Ashley seems like a really mellow person on the outside but on the inside there’s a wild woman who bursts free every so often. I’ve enjoyed watching her silliness over the years and enjoyed participating as well. A guilty pleasure of mine used to be suggesting something ridiculous for her to do…and then she would do it.

She would never admit it, but Ashley is a genius. She’s one of the smartest people I know and I have visions of her being a high-powered career oriented woman. She’s independent, strong, happy, and wonderful.

Erin:

We met in kindergarten. I remember her as a bossy little girl who always wanted to play in the big house. She remembers me as a quiet little girl who wanted to play with the sandbox or keep working on my crafts. Our first encounter was when we accidentally switched our snow pants at going-home time. They were the exact same kind except hers were much bigger (Erin has always seemed to be a foot taller than me).

We didn’t really interact that much at school until grade 5. I don’t even know how we started hanging out but we were inseparable both at school and outside of school from grade 5 to grade 9. Interestingly Though enough, I became the bossy one and Erin the shy one.

We’ve probably had hundreds of sleepovers at each other’s houses and have had so much fun making up new games, walking around my neighbourhood, exploring the forest around Erin’s (former) country home, playing on the computer, renting movies, working on school projects, and studying for tests and exams. Erin always had huge birthday parties and end of school parties too, those will live down in everybody’s memories I’m sure!

When Erin got her driver’s license we had more freedom and would often drive places together listening and singing to the same few songs over and over and over on her car stereo. We were still good friends in high school, though not as inseparable.

We don’t live in the same city anymore but whenever we are together, it’s as if no time has passed. She seems so glamourous and unapproachable when you see her, but she’s so silly and ridiculous and never afraid to make a fool of herself. After all these years we can still laugh at a fart joke like we could at age 10. It’s awesome.

She’s engaged to a terrifically smart man and living a dream life as a music teacher. She always wanted to be a teacher and she was always a brilliant musician. I’m really proud of what she’s accomplished and I can’t wait to see what else is in store for her!

Lauren:

We were pen pals in grade 4. Our classes from two different schools arranged a pen pal project: we wrote letters back and forth for a couple weeks and met at a teacher arranged skating party. I remember it being a lot of fun but nothing spectacular as to start a life-long friendship.

We met again in Grade 9, in high school. She was close friends with the very first girl who befriended me. At my new friend’s 14th birthday party, I remember looking at Lauren and wondering why she looked so familiar.

I didn’t really talk to her one-on-one during that first year of high school, but in grade 10 we had some classes together. Since we had somewhat of a history, we decided to be partners in various class projects. We had fun working on projects in Computer class because Lauren was able to handle all the technical aspects and I jazzed things up with my creativity. Our opposite forms of intelligence have really complimented each other throughout our years of friendship.

Some of my best memories in the world are the weekends we spent at Lauren’s camp. We paddle-boated around the lake, listened to music, went swimming, had saunas, made camp fires, chased the dog around, watched movies, and read lots of books on the deck. I’m so thankful that Lauren shared her camp with me all those years.

Lauren is quiet and incredibly smart and has a real understated loveliness about her. Sometimes I think she’s a little shy (like me). We’ve had some great serious discussions over the years and I’ve been privileged on several occasions to see her let loose into fits of hysterical laughter. When she gets going, it’s hard for her to stop.

Life gets in the way now. After first year University, our schedules were vastly different and we both had boyfriends. I’m married with a baby (now two babies) and Lauren has a new awesome boyfriend (now he’s a husband!), a new house, a new dog, and an accounting job that keeps her hopping. We live in the same neighbourhood but our paths are opposite. I’m not sure if we’ll ever be close again but I treasure the memories we made!

Jilliane:

We met during University Orientation in the summer of 2002. She was quirky and funny and adorable. We learned we were in the exact same program taking almost all the same classes and upon further conversation learned we liked a lot of the same music and movies and had similar family life and sense of humour.

Throughout the next three years we had lots of classes and break-time together. Jilliane was a bad influence on me with regards to skipping classes and procrastinating. But she was a good influence with regards to embracing change and having adventures.

Jilliane and I got quite a few tattoos together (including one with our friend Lauren) and spent some time at the piercing shop together. I spent a lot of time at her little apartment hanging out, eating dinner, and baking. We went to some concerts, some movies, the mall, some road trips, and the salon!

She was someone with whom I could be silly. Not that I can’t be silly with my other friends, but she really brought it out in me. We were two University students: to look at us having coffee in the Study, you’d think we were debating some intense feminist theory. In reality, we were making up new words and noises and developing important theories about why our Poly Sci teacher never changed his shirt. We had so many inside jokes we started writing them down on paper.

I was pretty sad when she moved away after her graduation but that’s Jilliane for you: you can’t keep her in one place too long. After University, she moved to Saskatoon then Winnipeg, and now she’s in Edmonton. She sees life as a fun challenge and she does what she wants. We’re not especially close anymore because of the distance that separates us, but meeting up with that quirky pig-tailed girl August 1st 2002 is something I’ll never forget or regret

There are many many many more important women in my life that I want to write about. And I will…in March 2013. Stay tuned for more Wonderful Women next year!

5 Responses to “Wonderful Women Part 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonderful Women Part Seven | eating dirt - March 8, 2015

    […] Part two […]

  2. Wonderful Women Part Six | eating dirt - March 11, 2014

    […] Part TWO […]

  3. Wonderful Women Part 5 | eating dirt - March 9, 2014

    […] Part TWO […]

  4. Wonderful Women Part 4 | eating dirt - March 27, 2013

    […] is the mother of Ashley (mentioned in this post) and a great friend to my mother.  My dad and her husband became friends in the late 70’s when […]

  5. Wonderful Women Part 3 | eating dirt - March 8, 2013

    […] Wonderful Women Part 2 […]

Talk to me

