Eating Dirt?

5 Mar

When I was about 15 months old, I got down and dirty in some garden dirt. My mom has a picture of me stuffing my face with drippy chunks of black soil; smeared around my mouth like chocolate icing.

Aside: If you’ve read Harry Potter then you’re familiar with Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans. When I tried the dirt flavoured bean, I swear I experienced some sort of flashback!

The only acceptable reaction to your child chowing down on dirt is, of course, to grab a camera! Thankfully my mom did just that!

I’m sure my experience is far from unique. In fact, I think eating dirt is a childhood right of passage.

Sure!

It’s funny, cute, and will undoubtedly build up the immune system. Keeping your kids in a germ-free bubble won’t do them any favours when they are suddenly thrust into the disgusting cess pool of germs that is the first day of school.

I knew that if I ever had children, I would want photographic evidence of their own dirt eating milestones.

Turns out it’s actually quite easy to take a picture of a baby or toddler eating dirt.

Step one: put the baby (old enough to sit on his own) on the ground outside. Step two: wait. The baby will pick up anything that isn’t tied down and put it in his mouth. Step three: take a picture! Your end result is a highly desirable and treasured memory!

So there you have it, eating dirt: an integral, and arguably necessary, part of childhood!

What’s the grossest or weirdest thing your kids have ever eaten? How about you? What disgusting things have YOU eaten?

3 Responses to “Eating Dirt?”

  1. eatingdirt83 March 7, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    I think the dog food eating is pretty common. I mean for kids that live with pets.

    RJ didn’t eat a whole lot of weird stuff either. Though he ate his fair share of dirt. And once I found a snail in his mouth.

    JP is like Rocky…everything in his mouth.

    I don’t think I have any interest in trying pig’s ears or chicken feet. 🙂

  2. Stacy March 6, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Rusty never ate anything weird because he refused to put strange things into his mouth. I did not know how lucky I was in that regard until Rocky-AKA the boy who puts everything in his mouth-came along!

    I personally have eaten chicken’s feet and pig’s ears, both when I was in China. I do not recommend either of them!

  3. Lindsay March 6, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Lukas has ate quite a few pieces of dog food

Talk to me

